• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

TRiley

Green Pea
Apr 25, 2017
First Name
Tony
Hello,

I'm a newbie in the town for a small car dealership carpace.com. I was wondering if you can help me find the right DMS if 'm selling just 5-10 cars monthly. What are monthly fees does autotrader.com and cargurus.com charges for using their dealer portal. Is there a program to help small dealership to grow instead of paying hefty fees to get these services?
Thanks for reading my post and I look forward to hear your inputs/suggestions.

I have worked with a number of small dealers who use Frazer DMS, it offers tons of great features and the price is very affordable.

https://www.frazer.biz/features.html

The rates charged by AT, Cars.com and Cargurus changes by market and other factors. I would suggest adding 3rd party sites progressively, you don't need to be on every site right away. Also, don't be afraid to ask for a free trial of the site and get a feel for the level of success.

Just remember much of the traffic that 3rd party sites drive is walk-in traffic, be sure to ask your customers where they found you and what sites they used to research vehicles.

Craigslist can also be a great avenue for selling vehicles. You pay $5 per vehicle listed and many small dealers do well with it.

Do you have a website yet?

Reactions: Jeff Kershner
@TRiley

If you are selling 5 cars, 10 in a good month, you can go out of business if you have 3 "unlucky" months or buy 2 wrong cars.

So don't spend a dime in 3rd party classified sites other than Craigslist just because you can manually post the car for $5 anytime.

If CL is not good in your area, you must find some other way of guerrilla marketing, 3rd party websites will not make a change at all, your inventory footprint is too low.