• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

Who should be managing your SEO?

If SEO is looked at in 3 different levels:

1. Optimizing your website with the right meta & description tags, various header tags, and URLS ....site host
2. Building the content in your site that is flexible between customer content and search engine candy ....site host, you, or consultant
3. Experimental, advertisements, and other outside work ....site host, you, or consultant

The power is in one person doing all three so all three work together.

In the interest of full disclosure I am of course an outside SEO company, but my answer is the result of my findings from when I worked in the Industry. By far the more valuable find is in a outside company, I have found most companies at least for SEO within the dealer worlds inner sanctum are sub-par at best. This is further proven with all the dealership GM's I have talked to and how hard it is for me, and outside company to even sell SEO. Literally everyone I talk to has been burned before by some company they read about in digital dealer or some other trade mag.

The point is from what I have found companies within the dealer circle rely more on relationships than quality product, and although there are days I wish I would of took that route at the end of the day I have to sleep and feel good about the product we provide, so I take a stand against the big companies, get black balled, and don't care. :)

Anyway, sorry for the long post, this is a hot button issue for outside SEO companies like myself, stay out of the dealer mag's choose your SEO company based on their reputation, case studies, and personal references, a top flight SEO company can handle all aspects of your SEO campaign.

This is a big question and one we discussed on the blog a few months ago Hiring an Automotive Internet Marketing Manager