• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

Craigslist can work if done correctly

Jake L

Over the Curb
Dec 2, 2010
First Name
Jake
These stats over the last 6 days only...but have been doing this for over 4 months now. Total CL sales: 43 and counting :D

2iuw70n.jpg

If you can't see the image the stats go as so:
Unique Visitors: 386 Page Views: 1,027 Form Submissions: 22 Submission Rate: 6.5% Bounce Rate: 56.5%

This conversion rate is actually better then our global website submission rate.

I'm pretty busy right now but around lunch time I'll post some tips covering how I got CL to work as a dealer.

Last edited:
I actually do craigslisting for a local dealership. They get all of their sales from craigslist alone. I have been doing their craigslist for the last 2 years.
Craigslist is the way to go hands down.
We also found that simple text ads with a link back to the website for more information is much more effective than costly html ads.

It would be cool to see a Craigslist ad that you feel works. I think the plain idea with a link back to the vehicle is more effective on Craigs. It isn't too popular here in Canada, everyone uses Kijiji here for Autos.

Kijiji (Ebay Company): Ontario cars for sale, buy used autos - Kijiji Ontario

They recently started charging dealers for ads so it weeded out some of the vulchers.

I had an intern posting to CL. Lost the intern, went to cargigi via HomeNet's intellipost. HATED the page they put up, but, I had no other way to get it done.

AutoTrader.com/HomeNet just dropped CarGigi.

[FONT=&quot]Subject: [/FONT]Discontinuance of Support for Intelli-Post Service

[FONT=&quot]
email_banner.gif
[/FONT]​
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
NOTICE OF DISCONTINUANCE OF
SUPPORT FOR INTELI-POST SERVICE

Dear HomeNet Dealer: