• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

In-House SEO vs Hiring a Marketing Company

Devin Outfleet

Tie Cut
Jun 11, 2018
First Name
Devin
Hello Dealer Refresh Family! I'm somewhat of a new-comer to this industry and even newer to these forums. My background is in digital marketing and providing SEO services for local businesses and after picking up my first dealership client last year, I've decided to dive into the automotive industry head first. As someone on the younger end of the spectrum in this industry, with admittedly less experience - I have an extremely pressing question that has been on my mind. *Skip to the end of the post for the question, although I provide a lot of context to help build an understanding of the thought processes that lead to this idea*

The first thing that I'll say is that there are lots of reasons for my decision to take on this industry. Some of those reasons are that box companies getting too big, brands cracking down on their verified vendors, and an overall low competition environment on Google for me when I see just how shitty of a job the big box companies are doing.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying ALL automotive marketing companies are bad. In fact, there are owners and employees of great marketing companies here on these forums. Nor am I saying that the SEO your dealership has done or paid for is inherently bad. I'm not looking to bash the competition or toot my horn in any way. All I am saying is that I see a trend developing where huge automotive marketing agencies are not providing their high paying clients with the care they deserve.