• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

The Basic Performance Benchmarks - Please help!

Mar 17, 2014
First Name
Pete
Hello, DealerRefresh!

My name is Pete. I'm fairly new to car sales. I'm not involved in our internet department, yet. I was chatting with my Internet Director and he's been explaining to me the basics of everything, but I'm worried that I'm bothering him too much. I'm the type of person that understands something better when I can see the whole picture and he's been too busy to explain to me the whole picture to me. I've been putting it together in bits and pieces, though.

So, what is the deal with leads? The last time I spoke, we were talking about all the different metrics that he has to keep watch over. I've tried to do some research myself so that he can see that I'm putting forth some initiative, but I can't find much. When we talked last, he mentioned 50% a lot and I got lost. For example, I think he was saying if I got 100 leads one month, I should make 50 appointments, 25 of those would actually show and then 12.5 of them would buy? Did I understand that right?

What is the industry standard for leads? Is there one? Are there any good resources that I can sink my teeth into?

PS - Let me add that my manager has been more than willing to answer questions for me. I guess I'm just looking for a chance to impress him by finding out some answers on my own...and by that, I mean by asking the internet. :D

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: THE BASICS - CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN THIS TO ME