• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

What works best for new cars: MSRP or Internet Price?

Steve Sams

Green Pea
Nov 4, 2011
First Name
Steve
I spend most of my down time checking out dealership sites from here to Timbuktu. I see some dealerships put every new car at MSRP and some show internet discounts. I have had talks with a few peers and the opinions I have gotten are all over the map.

I've been pricing my cars and improving my marketing for over five years. I've worked for two large groups. When I left the first group, my department was one of the top stores. At the second, my department was the top store, beating stores (franchises) that we shouldn't have.

About a year and a half ago, I noticed a change in the digital marketing at another group. This is a large group, that people were writing off three years ago. They started doing many of the same things that I felt was important to the success, of my department. You can see the same changes at all of their stores. I don't think that someone was copying me, but there is definately a like minded person in their organization.

This is a public company and I have been looking at their press releases and financials because I wanted to see the effect of this marketing style, over a large group of stores. I printed one of their bar charts that shows "New Car Playbook Rollout" with an arrow that shows when they started. There is a box that says, "New Vehicle Playbook rollout is driving industry-beating performance". Another chart shows "All-Time Record" for sales and gross. All this for Q2, 2011 and their success continues.

Over the years, I have had my doubts and plenty of doubters and critics. Now, I can see that what I have been doing works over a larger number of stores. Nobody will ever convince me otherwise.