• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

Opinions on video in car listings

Jul 19, 2024
Awards
First Name
Deborah
Hi, I am a journalist at AIM Group (which writes about auto marketplaces). I am writing a profile of LESA/Imagine Autos, which provides AI-based video to accompany car listings. The founder says that although video in a car listing would be really helpful and modern, most dealerships are change resistant and stick to photos. Related to that, I would like insight from a dealer perspective - why video in auto listings is not more widespread, what dealers think of it, etc. Any comments to shed light on this would be greatly appreciated!

Largest Used Car Dealers by Sales Volume 2023:
  1. CarMax - no videos
  2. Carvana - no videos
  3. Drivetime - no videos
  4. EchoPark - no videos
  5. carshop - no videos
All of these dealers have the technology and infrastructure to easily implement videos on every single car today if they wanted to. But they haven't, they've stuck with 360 spins. What does that tell you?

Don't get me wrong, videos are great as a first response to build rapport and tailor the video to each customer.

But a 30 second walkaround video with a robot voiceover reading off a barrage of VIN decoded features (intermittent wipers, telescoping steering wheel, auxiliary jack) is not valuable.

I'm not saying that's what LESA's videos are, but that's what they have been historically in our industry (or even worse just a photo slideshow turned into a "video") and its trained customers to ignore videos.

Not to mention, the majority of customers have their audio turned off, so what benefit does a video provide over a 360 spin? 360 spins give the customer the control to easily explore the vehicle at the pace they prefer.

My recommendation:
  1. Use engaging videos to target top and middle funnel buyers at the model-line level to move them down the funnel to your VIN-specific inventory