• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

Sorry if I am posting in a wrong section but just thought I'd be able to get some insights here.

Mar 26, 2017
First Name
Patrick
HI,

I found this forum on google, after searching a bit about the job. I have been offered few interviews and some are very eager to hire me. I am pretty sure it's because they fire a lot of people and need to fill the showroom with more salesmen to sell for them but got me thinking a bit.

I do have a job right now, a part time (should I say full time?) job that pays me near minimum wage. I maintain to take home about 2600 a month right now and that's after working 50 hours a week without a miss every week.

I have a bachelor's degree with en route of pursuing master's but recently, decided to take a break from school and get some sort of career going. Coming from finance background, I turned to financial institution but found out that it's all sales after all even working at a bank. I honestly have not much sales experience besides working at a bank for 10 months and working in a store trying to sell certain merchandise for a year.

What really scares me is that what if I can't maintain what I make right now. I can somewhat be comfortable making 2500-2600 a month along with my wife making somewhat similar a month, but would like to make more so my wife can quit working and finish her education, too.

I am based in Seattle metro area and it seems like selling a car can't be TOO hard for a big city like this (I am not saying in any shape or form to assume everyone's car sales job is easy!). I am looking at Honda, Toyota and Chevrolet, something more mainstream, thinking it'd be more probable to make a sale based on their popularity, please do correct me if I am wrong, I am only here to learn.