• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

Vehicle finance - dealer vs directly with the bank?

kylewilliam

Green Pea
Dec 20, 2023
Awards
First Name
kyle
Hello all.

This is my first time buying a car on finance.

I got a pre-approval letter from my bank, and my banker advised me not to arrange finance through the dealers because once they make the application, my banker is unable to get a better rate for me.
When I went to a dealership to look at cars and discuss financing, they told me pretty much the same thing. That if I apply directly at the bank, they won't be able to get a better rate for me, and that it would be best if I let the dealer make the applications to various banks to get the best rate for me.

Which of these is correct?

Is there any harm in making these applications myself and seeing what the best rate I can get is?

Hello all.

This is my first time buying a car on finance.

I got a pre-approval letter from my bank, and my banker advised me not to arrange finance through the dealers because once they make the application, my banker is unable to get a better rate for me.
When I went to a dealership to look at Bhph cars and discuss financing, they told me pretty much the same thing. That if I apply directly at the bank, they won't be able to get a better rate for me, and that it would be best if I let the dealer make the applications to various banks to get the best rate for me.

Which of these is correct?

Is there any harm in making these applications myself and seeing what the best rate I can get is?
thanks in advance for any help

Banks and Dealers "banks" are going to compete for your business to some degree. Unless you’re already working with a bank or credit union, I recommend applying for credit through the dealership. Not only can they often match or get you a lower/competitive rate, but it’s often more efficient.