• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

Chat Challenge: Show Me Your Chat

JD Rucker

Give Away Artist
Feb 12, 2010
First Name
JD
What makes for great chat software or managed services in the automotive industry? I want to know. At Dealer Authority, we don't offer chat, but it's becoming more of a concern as we work with dealers across the country on their general digital marketing needs. I'm not a chat expert, so I need help from the community.

Whose chat works well? Whose does not? What are some best practices? I'd like to hear from dealers AND vendors on this one if possible, please

I'd also like to offer a challenge. To any chat company willing to show me your statistics, case studies, pitches, whatever, I'm willing to listen. The goal is to find out who we (and anyone else) should recommend. Is anyone really the best or is chat just... well, chat?

Please let me know if you're up for the challenge. Dealers, please comment about your experiences as well.

Love Shereef from CarChat one of the more solid dudes in Automotive Software space for sure. That said, at the end of the day chat is chat. Yes you need to have it, yes it works, and if you didn't have it you might expect to see a lower conversion due too the fact that "chatters" are not the same as traditional phone and email ups. I think that chat is most effective when your website is less effective. When navigating your site is a clunky operation chat can certainly bridge the gaps.

I'm not particularly fond of chat. I don't like the idea of someone else representing my dealership(s) however I become deathly ill when thinking about how much worse it would be if we had our "BDC" managing the chat sessions. DISASTER!