• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

How do you get around giving up price over the phone?

Mike Bielaszka

Green Pea
Nov 28, 2011
First Name
Mike
So I was an internet manager for 6 years at a few different dealerships and then I took a job outside of the auto industry for the last 5 years. I have recently taken a position as BDC director and although my phone skills have gotten a little rusty, everything has been coming back kinda like riding a bike. I have no problems handling objections, getting appointments etc. Except the one call that has given me trouble is the shoppers who call in specifically asking what the price of a specific vehicle is. Most of our prices are online but about 30% are not.

My question is what are some ways you get around giving up price over the phone? Normally I would say something like "oh it looks like they havent priced this vehicle out yet Ill have to get that from my manager for you - by the way were you planning on trading anything in?" usually this works as they start talking about their vehicle and then never come back to price. But when that doesnt work I get the deer in the headlights look and feel like a rookie all over again. Im just looking for how others are handling this specific objection. Thanks in advance!

Interesting.... when I started selling Honda's in 1996, this was the thing -- get them in without giving a price. I painstakingly practiced method after method... trained, sweated, sacrificed... APB selling baby! (I'm sure you can still find an Automotive Profit Builders manual somewhere). Even when the internet "arrived," it was, "C'mon in, and I'll give you a price!" I was pretty good at it...