• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

Lead Management question

erikh

Lot Lizard
Mar 20, 2013
First Name
Erik
Hi everyone,

I'm a grad student finishing up some research on car dealerships and I have a couple of questions regarding lead management systems:

1) Is it better to have a separate lead management system, or one integrated with another system (i.e. CRM)?
2) Leads come from a lot of places (3rd party vendors, OEM websites, google search, etc.), how do you scrub them to make sure that you aren't paying for duplicates?
3) My research has shown that internet users are moving more and more toward utilizing the OEM and dealer websites as the leading sources of information, do you find less reliable leads coming from 3rd party vendors?

Thanks in advance for your answers, advice, etc.

Wow loaded question.

All of us have our own opinion, here is mine after 8 years as a BDC manager and BDC set ups.

CRM Should integrate with the DMS seeing how the word is going electronically this would be best since we no longer keep file folders with notes not only that but with the integration with the dms this keeps the dealerships in compliances. (this is the short version to this question)
CRM will detect the duplicate most often OEM will not give credit for leads if you received the info from another vendor only with in the OEM in the past 30 days can you request a credit and if the info isnt valid. Most leads are pre-scrubbed with filters. Again this is the short version in less then a 3 page report that i am throwing at you since this question has many variables to you

Hope this has helped!