• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

Let's talk about incentivizing reviews // Local Marketing Insider #036

LMI 36 blog cover – 1.png
Incentivizing reviews works. As in 40% lift in positivity.

Studies show offering an incentive boosts the number of reviews a company receives, increases review positivity, and leaves a lasting favorable memory of the review experience, regardless of the product experience.

But, the FTC is wary of review incentives. Google forbids them.

Today I have a short guide to help your business thread the needle.

How to leverage incentives to boost your reputation while avoiding deceptive review practices and minimizing legal exposure. (Hey, so, I’m not a lawyer. View this as a starting point.)

Incentives increase review positivity. Two experiments.

Kaitlin Woolley (Cornell) and Marissa Sharif (UPenn) published a study last year testing to what degree, if any, incentivization impacts review positivity. Here is a longer summary.

Experiment #1

A group of 800 Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon Prime video users were divided into four groups, each receiving a different incentive in exchange for a review of each streaming service.

Group 1: $0.20 incentive

Group 2: Entered into a lottery for $200

Group 3: Entered into a non-monetary lottery, prize Airpods worth $200

Group 4: Control, no incentive

After writing their reviews participants answer questions about how enjoyable they found the process.

Result: According to a computer sentiment analysis, participants offered any incentive wrote reviews containing 40% more positive language as compared to the control group, and they found the process more interesting and enjoyable.

Experiment #2

Diners were asked to take a short survey after finishing their meals.

Half were offered a $1 Amazon gift card and half were offered no incentive.