• Stop being a LURKER - join our dealer community and get involved. Sign up and start a conversation.

RossS

Full Sticker
Jun 23, 2017
First Name
Ross
I was just hired to manage internet operations for an autogroup that includes a Chevy dealership, a Subaru dealership, and multiple used car shops. I am relatively new to the industry and completely new to automotive internet sales.

My job is two faceted. I am to create and implement a system for managing internet leads, follow up processes, etc. I am also responsible for making sure that we are competitive online (internet pricing strategy, utilization of third party resources, SEO, etc.)

I have been combing through all of the information available online, including these forums, and the few related books that I can get my hands on. Can anyone recommend resources that will help me to gain a strong understanding of the online automotive industry?

Mystery shop a large, successful Chevy dealer by submitting an Internet inquiry then do the same for Subaru. Shop your local competitors on prices and pick & choose the processes you think will work best in your market. You've already found one of the best resources available in this forum, but also check out things like:

There are a number of weekly webinars put on by vendors that are invaluable in the learning curve like DealerOn , Automotive News and others

Thanks Michael. I will be checking out all of those links. I have actually been mystery shopping all the other Chevy dealers in our region as well as several large ones across the country, and am documenting their follow-up schedule and email templates. (They want me to focus on optimizing the Chevy dealership right now, then move to Subaru and Used later.)
I also input all the prices and discounts from all of our local competitor's inventory into Excel so I can analyse their pricing strategies compared to ours.